• 1


Several scholarships are available to undergraduate students majoring in Languages, Literature, and Philosophy, which are awarded each year to outstanding students in English, Languages, and Creative Writing. These are selected by the faculty of the department and are funded through the MUW Foundation by the generous gifts of alumni and friends of The W. They may include:

The Frances Anne Smith King Babbit Scholarship
The Louise Eskrigge Crump Scholarship
The Lucile Watkins Ellison Scholarship
The H. T. English Scholarship
The Harriet Rice Harned Scholarship
The Elise H. Moore English Award
The Marie Charlotte Stark Scholarship
The Martha Pope Trotter Scholarship
The Neill James Memorial Scholarship

Apply Online

We now have an online application form for all of our scholarships. Because the Neill James Memorial Scholarship asks for a creative writing sample, there is a separate application form than the one for other Departmental Scholarships. 

(Please email your Neill James writing sample before you fill out the application form. See the scholarship page for details)