Mortyakova elected to IAWM board


COLUMBUS, Miss. – Dr. Julia Mortyakova, professor and chair of The W Department of Music, was recently elected to the board of the International Alliance for Women in Music (IAWM). Mortyakova started serving in the new position January 2021.

Read more ...

Heaton wins multiple prizes at music competition


COLUMBUS, Miss.-- Mississippi University for Women junior music major Hannah Heaton has been named the 2020 Southern Division Winner in the Music Teachers National Association Student Composition Competitions and will advance to the national level of the competitions.

Read more ...

Music department to debut virtual recital series


COLUMBUS, Miss.--The W’s music department will present a virtual recital Friday, Nov. 20 at 7:30 p.m.  The concert will feature W music professor Valentin M. Bogdan performing works by George Frideric Handel, Franz Liszt and Carmen Petra Basacopol.

Read more ...

Department of Music announces new emphasis

Kossen Stage

COLUMBUS, Miss.—The Department of Music at Mississippi University for Women has developed two new bachelor degree tracks within its current bachelor of arts in music degree: a bachelor of arts in music with music performance emphasis and a bachelor arts in music with composition emphasis.

Read more ...