• Your Actions Make A Difference

    It’s easy to contribute to campus sustainability efforts! When you leave a room, turn off the lights, put your computer in power save mode, and unplug all charging devices not in use. Walk to class, don’t drive, and drop your recycling into a Blue Recycling Bin along the way.

    Read More
  • Campus Carbon Sink

    A two-acre underused section of campus now functions as green space. The W community uses the area for recreation and relaxation, all while its grasses and trees remove carbon dioxide from the atmosphere and clean the air.

    Read More
  • Colorful Biodiversity

    A variety native perennials welcome local insect and butterfly species. These campus areas support biodiversity and brighten our days.

    Read More
  • 1
  • 2

Earth Day Celebration Week

Monday, April 22, 2019




 Choose BLUE and recycle.

Sustainability Committee Members

Mark Ellard
Vice President for Administration and CFO (Chair)

Angie Atkins
Director of Resources Management

Aaron Brooks
Director of Information Technology Services

Director of Food Services

Jody Kennedy
Director of Facilities Management

Andrew Moneymaker
Director of Housing and Residence Life

Jennifer Claybrook
Director of Athletics and Campus Recreation

Tyler Wheat
Communications Director

Dr. Nicole Welch
College of Arts & Sciences

Dr. Marty Brock
College of Business and Professional Studies

Laura Turner
College of Nursing and Health Sciences

School of Education

Hunter Manasco
President of Faculty Senate

Ashley Hammack
President of Staff Council

Leann Alexander


Energy Manager



Meeting frequency

The committee meets the first Monday of every third month.


In December 2011, Mississippi University for Women passed the Sustainability Committee policy (P.S. 3545), forming the committee "to advise, consult and communicate with the University community and its constituents on matters related to the development and implementation of conservation efforts for the institution."

The same month, the University passed the MUW Sustainability Policy (P.S. 7003) "to establish guidelines for implementing IHL policy on sustainability." The MUW Sustainability Policy lays out 14 points focusing on everything from recycling programs to transportation, and from construction to energy usage reduction.


Formed in 2011, the Sustainability Committee assists in guiding the implementation of conservation efforts for Mississippi University for Women.  The committee is chaired by the Senior Vice President for Administration/Chief Financial Officer.


Facebook Twitter